Following Keir Starmer's appointment as Prime Minister, the names of the cabinet members are being called to the Prime Minister's Office Number 10 one by one.

Statements about the names appointed as ministers were shared on the social media account of Prime Minister's Office Number 10.

The decision that will change the fate of the Ukrainian War! The decision that will change the fate of the Ukrainian War!

According to the statements made, the names that Starmer had in the shadow cabinet when he was in the main opposition were appointed as ministers in the areas they were responsible for.

Accordingly, Angela Rayner was appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Development, Social Housing and Communities, David Lammy was appointed Foreign Minister and Yvette Cooper was appointed Interior Minister.

Starmer appointed John Healey as Minister of Defense, Shabana Mahmood as Minister of Justice, Wes Streeting as Minister of Health, Liz Kendall as Minister of Labor and Bridget Phillipson as Minister of Education.

Rachel Reeves became the first woman to be appointed as Finance Minister, while former Labor Party leader Ed Miliband was appointed as Energy Security and Zero Emissions Minister.

The management of the Duchy of Lancaster, the personal property of the King of England, was entrusted to Pat McFadden, an experienced politician who served as shadow minister in this field.

It was noteworthy that all of the names announced were shadow ministers in their fields of duty.


In the UK, the shadow cabinet is a group of MPs formed by members of the main opposition party, which oversees the work of ministers in the government and produces alternative policies.

The members of the shadow cabinet explain to the public what policies they will pursue when their party comes to power and what steps they will take against the government's actions.

Although there is no rule, the main opposition parties often choose their ministers from the shadow cabinet when they come to power.

Editor: David Goodman