TOWSON, Md. - Twenty-one students from Baltimore County Public Schools are among 570 students nationwide named 2024 Carson Scholars by the Carson Scholars Fund.

Each year, the Carson Scholars Fund recognizes a select group of students in grades 4-11 who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement (at least a 3.75 grade point average) and humanitarian qualities.

The students BCPS is honoring as new scholars for 2024 are

Samarth Abhisheak, Grade 10, Hereford High School
Leia Arshavskiy, Grade 5, Summit Park Elementary School
Sushila-Arielle Bhan, Grade 5, Wellwood International School
Elvina Bimpong, Grade 5, Church Lane Primary School
Josephine Grote, Grade 5, Sparks Elementary School
Chelsea Ijioma, Grade 5, Woodholme Primary School
Jessie Jebaraj, Grade 5, Cedarmere Primary School
Emma Martin, Grade 11, Hereford High School
Tsehai McIntosh, Grade 8, Pikesville Middle School
Eleanor McKee, Grade 11, Dulaney High School
Elizabeth Onafuwa, Grade 11, Dundalk High School
Anthony Ortenzi, Grade 5, Rodgers Forge Elementary School
Mia Ramirez, Grade 5, Milbrook Elementary School
Sarina Saki, 11th grade, Towson High School
Vanessa Saleh, Grade 5, Bedford Primary School
Morielle Shechter, Grade 11, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology
Stella Smolyuk, Grade 8, Hereford Secondary School
Elayna Stein, Grade 11, Pikesville High School
Matthew Stolz, Grade 11, Dulaney High School
Eilise Woodbine, Grade 5, Bedford Primary School
Liliana Zavi, Grade 11, Towson High School
These students will each be awarded a $1,000 college scholarship and will be recognized at a regional awards ceremony on Sunday, May 19, at The HALL at Live event center in Hanover, Md. The dinner will also celebrate 41 BCPS students who have renewed their Carson Scholar status by maintaining high academic standards and continuing to engage in community service. Nationwide, 936 students have renewed their Carson Scholar status.